Yolk Tales

An interesting Pesach product that will take on added relevance this year is egg matzah. Is egg matzah kosher l’Pesach? Can egg matzah be used to fulfill the biblical mitzvah of matzah on the night of the Seder? If you’re hungry for answers, read on.
The Gemara in Pesachim (36a) records a statement from Rebbe Akiva: “I lodged one Pesach by Rabbi Eliezer and Rabbi Yehoshua and I made matzah for them with dough kneaded with wine, oil, and honey, and they said nothing to me by way of objection.” Evidently, Rebbe Akiva is of the opinion that there is nothing wrong with wine matzah.
Yet, the Gemara records that Rebbe Akiva expounds that the reason the Torah refers to matzah as lechem oni, poor man’s bread, is to teach us that one may not knead flour with wine, oil, and honey for use as matzah. This indicates that Rebbe Akiva is of the opinion that one may not replace the water in matzah with wine.
The Gemara resolves this contradiction by explaining that matzah kneaded with flour, wine, or oil is not chametz but still may not be used to fulfill the mitzvah at the Seder. To fulfill the mitzvah of matzah at the Seder, the matzah must meet the additional criterion of being poor man’s bread.